27th Stetson International Environmental Law Moot Court Competition


The International Finals of the Stetson International Environmental Moot  Court Competition (“Stetson”), which focuses on important global  environmental challenges, is the most prestigious international  environmental law moot court competition in the world. Since 1996, law  students from universities all over the globe have participated in the Stetson  Moot Court Competition, considering it an invaluable opportunity to meet  and compete with representatives from universities around the world. 

In order to qualify for the Stetson International Finals, participants must  compete in their respective regional competitions. Southeast Asian countries,  in particular, are required to participate in the Southeast Asian Regional  Rounds (“SEARR”) of the Stetson International Environmental Moot Court  Competition before advancing to the International Finals. 

The University of the Philippines Law Center, through its Institute for  International Legal Studies (UP-IILS), invites law schools from all over  Southeast Asia to take part in the Southeast Asian Regional Rounds of the 27th Stetson International Environmental Law Moot Court Competition .  SEARR will be held virtually via Zoom, and hosted by the University of the  Philippines College of Law in Diliman, Quezon City, Philippines from January  30 to February 3, 2023. 

Qualified Universities  

Any university from an ASEAN member state may participate in SEARR. A university from an ASEAN member state cannot advance to the International  Finals without participating in SEARR. 

Number of Teams  

A university may register up to two (2) teams. However, should a university  decide to send two teams, one team must submit an Applicant memorial while the other team must submit a Respondent memorial. 

A university sending only one team may choose either an Applicant or Respondent memorial.

Team Members  

Each team consists of two or three persons, each of whom satisfying the criteria listed below. 

However, as allowed by the IEMCC Rules, the SEARR permits up to five (5) team members. Should a team advance to the International Finals, the team  will be restricted to no more than three team members. 

Team Member Criteria  

  • No team member may hold a law degree.
  • Each team member must be enrolled in a full-time or part-time Juris Doctor or equivalent program in the law school they represent.


The deadline for registration is on November 04, 2022, 5:00 pm (Manila time). 

Registration information must be entered via the online registration form (link here). Individual ID pictures of team members must be sent via email  (stetsonsearr@gmail.com). 

A confirmation e-mail will be sent to the teams upon filling out of the online Registration Form and receipt of the e-mail with the necessary attachments. 

Memorial Numbers and Submission  

The Record of the 2022-2023 Stetson International Environmental Law Moot Court Competition can be found here.

Memorials submitted will indicate only the team number assigned to it by SEARR (not the school name). Team numbers will be assigned upon  submission of the registration form. 

Additional information on submission of memorials will be provided upon registration. The Rules of the 2022-2023 Stetson International Finals can be  found here. 

The memorial and affidavit must be sent to Ms. Katherine Pratt at  kpratt2@law.stetson.edu, with stetsonsearr@gmail.com copied on the email. 

Please include the following in the subject line of the email: “2022 IEMCC  Memorial XXXX” (where XXXX is the team’s assigned identification number). The deadline for memorials is on November 11, 2022, 5:00pm Eastern Standard Time. 

Law schools interested in participating in the SEARR may send an e-mail to  the organizing committee at stetsonsearr@gmail.com. For more information on Stetson, please refer to their website at https://www.stetson.edu/law/international/iemcc/