UP College of Law Bags Awards at 31st National Convention of the ALSP

UP College of Law Bags Awards at the 31st National Convention of the Association of Law Students of the Philippines

At the 31st National Convention of the Association of Law Students of the Philippines, Inc. held on 31 October 2020, UP Law students were among those honored in the 2020 Law Students Awards for their recent achievements in moot court competitions.  The Moot and Debate Awards were given to the UP Law Jessup Team under the Group Category and to Barzillai Josh Banogon and Vanayan Odsey under the Individual Category.  Prof. Rommel Casis coached all of them.

The UP Law Jessup Team emerged as International Champion of the 2020 “After Jessup” International Moot Court in September 2020, besting other Jessup national champion teams from different world regions.  Before this, the Team composed of Leslie Diane Torres, Abelardo Hernandez, Anton Miguel Sison, Therese Ravina, and Bianca Isabella Ortiz won as champions of the National Rounds of the Jessup competition in February 2020 and clinched several oralist and memorial awards. (link to full article)

Banogon and Odsey, along with Chinette Montenegro, comprised the UP Law contingent to the 18th Hong Kong Red Cross International Humanitarian Moot, who reclaimed the International Championship in the Asia-Pacific region 15 years after the Philippines first won in 2005 and securing the 3rd Best Prosecutor Memorial.  In the 2019 National Rounds, the team also emerged champions and were likewise recognized by several oralist, memorial, and special awards. (link to full article)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

  • Post category:News
  • Post last modified:November 25, 2020