The University of the Philippines Law Complex was created by the Board of Regents on December 18, 1989 in response to the need for an integrated system of national and regional legal institution dedicated to teaching, research, training, information and other services.

The concept of a law complex has its modest origins in the faculty lecture programs of the UP College of Law first conducted in 1962 for the benefit of law practitioners, government lawyers, and law professors. Encouraged by the favorable reactions to this project, the College organized short courses in various fields of law. To complement these short courses, research projects were also initiated. These led to the establishment in 1963 of the Continuing Legal Education and Research Center of the Philippines in the College of Law.

The rich potential of this intellectual enterprise was recognized by the Congress of the Philippines which enacted on June 15, 1964 the Charter of the UP Law Center, Republic Act No. 3870. The Continuing Legal Education and Research Center became the UP Law Center.

Through the reorganization plan approved by the Board of Regents in 1989, the UP Law Complex currently consists of the College of Law with a Law Center, which performs the College’s research and outreach functions.
The Law Center, in turn, is composed of five Institutes created in 1989, namely:

Institute of Government and Law Reform (IGLR)
Institute of Human Rights (IHR)
Institute of International Legal Studies (IILS)
Institute for the Administration of Justice (IAJ)
Institute for Maritime Affairs and Law of the Sea (IMLOS)


The College of Law is governed by the Dean and its faculty acting as a collegial body.  It has an Associate Dean who assists the Dean in the administration of the Law Center and its support staff.  There is also an Executive Committee composed of the Dean, the Associate Dean, the Institute Directors, and a representative of the faculty, and a Law Consultative Assembly composed of the Dean, the Associate Dean, and the Institute Directors as ex-officio members, one representative of the full-time faculty, one representative of the part-time faculty, two representatives from the Research, Extension and Professional Staff of the Law Center, one representative of the Administrative Personnel, the president of the UP Law Alumni Association, and the president of the Law Student Government as regular members.