[31 July 2007 – UP President Emerlinda R. Roman approved the Change in Degree Title from Bachelor of Laws (LL.B.) to Juris Doctor (J.D.)]

No students shall be admitted to the  program leading to Juris Doctor degree unless he/she has satisfactorily completed in an authorized university or college a bachelor’s degree in arts or science with any of the following subjects as major or field of concentration

Political Science

A bachelor’s degree holder in a field other than those mentioned above must have earned the following minimum number of units:

English 12 Units
History or Economics 9 Units
Philosophy, Political Science, Psycology, or Sociology 9 Units
Rizal Course 3 Units


An applicant shall be required to take the Law Aptitude Examination (LAE). The UP LAE is usually administered in the third week of November in five (5) testing centers (UP Diliman, UP Baguio, UP Visayas (Iloilo), UP Cebu, and UP Mindanao). Application forms are available on the second week of August.

Holders of graduate degrees are not exempted from taking the test.

No student shall be admitted to the College unless the Committee on Student Admissions recommends his/her admission. The College has a “no deferment” policy. Those admitted to the College but do not enroll or enroll in the first semester but drop all courses will have to re-take the LAE.

Only those who are employed full-time shall be permitted to enroll in the evening classes.